Sustainable Forest Management

Oberwald is a nice forest in Karlsruhe. It starts just after the central station and extends to Aue. Through this forest I walk everyday to my office in Durlach. It’s a beautiful one with some really nice old trees. I was shocked one morning, when I’ve seen that exactly those old trees have been fallen down.

Such highways in the forest can stay for decades.

That seems really scary and it definitely don’t have to be done like this.

They cut down the oldest trees. It could have been better to cut some younger ones and some old one, in order to have more balance.

It looks ugly and brutal. I know that we need the wood and that it is the most sustainable natural material we have and that it is good to use wood instead of some other materials. But the forest management has to be done sustainable. It is possible.